Sarsfields are the most successful club in Kildare and will always set high standards both on and off the field.

We have a long tradition and association contributing to the welfare and development of the community as part of our town. This goes back to the 1890’s and taking our name from the patriot Patrick Sarsfield whose castle was in Roseberry.

We stand proud in our achievements and our significant contribution to the GAA.

The club name is linked to Patrick Sarsfield’s castle in the area and the colours, green with white sash, were based the colours allegedly worn by Sarsfield’s men.

Paddy “Boiler” White (grandfather of current Kildare footballer Gary White) was a member of the Kildare Gaelic football team of the millennium. Niall Buckley won an All Stars Award winner at midfield in 1997. Dermot Earley was an All Stars Award at left half forward winner in 1998 and at Mid-Field in 2009. Noelle Earley won an All Stars Award in 2009.


Newbridge has always had two and sometimes three GAA clubs. Newbridge ‘Hare and Hounds’ drew with Moorefield in the 1888 championship. RIC records from 1890 show that Hare and Hounds had 47 members with officers listed as James Farrell, Pat Cox, John Quinn and Edward Wallis. An application from a third club based in the CYMS, St. Conleth’s, was rejected in January 1891 because membership was confined to Catholics. A St Conleth’s team successfully affiliated in the 1900s.

Sons of Sarsfields & Marble Arch

Sons of Sarsfields, originally based in Roseberry near Newbridge College a mile outside the North-Eastern end of the town was founded by W. P. O’Sullivan in 1897. The club is now based at Rickardstown, Newbridge.
The club was an amalgamation of players from other GAA clubs who decided to group together and form a stronger team to take on the challenge of the ‘mighty’ Clane who dominated Kildare GAA at the time.
Roseberry, Sons of Sarsfields beat Naas in the 1904 county finals and won seven titles in succession, losing just five of their 47 championship ties in that period. St Conleth’s fielded a football team after several Roseberry players defected to them in 1919.
Another club, Marble Arch was founded in the 1920s, swept through the Junior Championship and lost the infamous 1932 Intermediate final to Castledermot. In 1933 Marble Arch won the Intermediate and Roseberry, Sons of Sarsfields the Junior championships.

Gaelic Football

Nine Roseberry players played on the Kildare team that reached the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship final in 1903, Jack and Mick Fitzgerald, Jim and Mick Murray, Jack Gorman, Matt Donnelly, Jim Scott, Mick Kennedy and Frank ‘Joyce” Conlan.
A nephew of the team captain Jack Murray was Mick Geraghty who featured in the emergence of the new Sarsfields club that won five titles in seven years after 1945, including a three-in-a-row 1950-2.

Roscommon star Dermot Earley featured on the Sarsfields team that regained the title in 1982, his son Dermot played on the team that won five county titles after 1993. Sarsfields’ closest to a Leinster title came in 2005, when they beat Éire Óg of Carlow and Mattock Rangers of Louth but lost the Leinster final to Kilmacud Crokes.


St Conleth’s hurling club (sometimes referred to as Newbridge College) won the Kildare senior championship in 1900 and 1901 and the junior championship in 1936 and 1938.

After a number of years without a hurling team Sarsfields re-entered the junior league in 2007 and in June 2007 were crowned League champions after defeating Athy by 5-8 to 2-6. Sarsfields Hurling were 2009 Junior League and Championship double winners and now compete at Intermediate A level having won the 2010 Intermediate B Championship.



U14 Feile
U14 League
U13 Girls A League


U14 Feile
U14 Feile Girls


Senior Championship
Aldridge Cup
Senior League Div. 1
U14 League
U16 A Champions
U16 A League
U15 Girls A League


U14 Feile
U16 A Championship
U16 A League
Minor A League
Ladies Minor A Championship
U16 Ladies A Championship


U16 A Championship
U16 B Championship
Minor A Championship
Minor B Championship
Minor A League
Minor B League
Ladies Inter. Championship


Senior Championship
Senior B Championship
Jack Higgins Cup
Ladies Senior Championship
Ladies Minor A Championship
U14 Feile B Shield

Leinster Senior Club Football Championship Finalists 1999, 2005.

Kildare Senior Football Championship Winners 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1912, 1915 1945, 1947, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1982, 1986, 1993, 1994, 1999, 2001, 2005,2012

Kildare Senior Football League Division 1 1945- 46- 47- 52- 54- 81- 83- 84- 86- 88- 89- 92, 2007, 2012

Kildare Senior Football League Division 2 2000

Junior F Champions 1924, 1933.

Kildare U-21 Football Championship 1992, 2007, 2013

Kildare Minor Football A Championship 1940, 41, 57, 58, 68, 69, 70, 86, 90, 93, 96, 2005, 07, 14

Kildare Minor Football C Championship

Kildare Minor Football League Div 1
1942- 58- 62- 70- 76- 78- 79- 81- 82- 85- 86- 88- 89- 92, 2013, 2014

DIV 4: 1979- 81, 87, 91, 93, 95, 96, 2014

Kildare U/16 A Football Championship
1948, 54, 55, 62, 66, 67, 68, 88, 2006, 12, 13, 14,

FL: 1984- 88.
‘B’ 1999, 2003

Jack Higgins Cup 1985,2009, 2010

Junior Hurling Champions 2009

Intermediate Hurling B Champions 2010


· Sarsfields GFC 86 Golden Years 1897 To 1983 by Tommy O’Hanlon, Sarsfields GAA 1983

· Kildare GAA: A Centenary History, by Eoghan Corry, CLG Chill Dara, 1984, ISBN 0-9509370-0-2 hb ISBN 0-9509370-1-0 pb

· Kildare GAA yearbook, 1972, 1974, 1978, 1979, 1980 and 2000- in sequence especially the Millennium yearbook of 2000

· Soaring Sliothars: Centenary of Kildare Camogie 1904-2004 by Joan O’Flynn Kildare County Camogie Board.